

EXAM APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

You MUST graduate before you apply.

- <u>6 weeks prior to graduation</u>: Complete Criminal Background
 Check* (fingerprinting). Do not submit application without Criminal Background
 Check completed (see page 3 for instructions):
- □ **2 weeks prior to graduation:** Register and pay Pearson Vue . Do not submit application until you have registered and paid Pearson Vue.

http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex/

□ **Graduate BEFORE you apply.** Request official transcript to be sent to the Board directly from school. Find application online: <u>https://lars.tn.gov/datamart/mainMenu.do</u>

UPLOAD DOCUMENTS:

- Passport photograph signed and dated on the front by the applicant and the Dean/Director of the school of nursing
- □ **Declaration of Citizenship** pages 1 and 2 as one document (see pages 4-5)
- □ **Proof of citizenship** (e.g. current unexpired driver's license)

If the application is not complete upon receipt by the Board, you will be notified of the deficiency and your application will be delayed.

Allow 6 weeks for processing.



Additional information, if applicable:

Positive criminal history -

UPLOAD all as one file to online application:

- □ A letter of explanation
- □ Obtain certified copies:
 - arresting document (warrant)
 - judgment (disposition)
 - completion of judgment (receipt of payment of fines, letter of completion of probation)

Testing accommodations: must be approved for special testing accommodations before the ATT can be issued.

UPLOAD all as one file to online application:

- □ Letter from applicant requesting type of accommodations needed. Specify extra time: 2 or 3 hour(s), or double time, separate room, reader or other;
- Letter of diagnosis from qualified medical professional including results of diagnostic testing and recommendations and if applicable includes DSM Code;
- □ Letter from Dean/Director of your nursing program indicating what accommodations were granted while in school. Specify extra time: 2 or 3 hour(s), or double time, separate room, reader or other.



INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS FINGERPRINTING IN TENNESSEE

Applicants who <u>do not</u> live in Tennessee and are <u>not visiting</u> Tennessee prior to licensure may call the Board at (615) 532-5166 and request a fingerprint card or contact your local Sheriff's Office or Police Department for a fingerprint card.

- 1. Effective June I, 2006 applicants for initial licensure in Tennessee (not renewal or reinstatement) must obtain a criminal background check. Electronic fingerprinting must be done through the State of Tennessee selected vendor, IdentoGO by MorphoTrust U.S.A. at an approved site in <u>Tennessee</u>.
- 2. There are (2) ways that applicants may register for the fingerprinting process:

a) Call toll-free at (855) 226-2937;

b) Register online at <u>www.identogo.com</u> and click on the map of Tennessee. To begin registration, click <u>Online Scheduling</u>. Applicant may register, schedule, and make payment at this web site.

Regardless of how an applicant registers, the following information must be provided and/or verified:

Agency Name	Department of Health Licensure and Regulation	
Applicant Type	Bureau of Health Licensure	
OCA#	RN enter (1703) LPN enter (1704)	
Payment Type	Applicant Credit Card/Applicant Money Order/or Cashier's Check	
ORI#	TN 920390Z	

Online registration is preferred for ALL applicants to insure the quality of the data collected. Online registration is faster and may be completed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Payment for electronic fingerprinting is \$35.15

A money order or cashier's check made out to IdentoGO is accepted at the fingerprinting sites. CASH and **PERSONAL CHECKS** are **NOT** accepted.

- 3. Applicants must schedule an appointment to be fingerprinted at an IdentoGO site in Tennessee at the time of registration. Before registration is complete, applicants will be asked to check and confirm if information is correct and will need to print a copy of the registration completion page to take to the fingerprinting site.
- 4. The enrollment officer at the site will check your valid state or federal government issued photo identification, verify your information, verify or collect payment, capture your fingerprints, and submit your data to the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation (TBI).

* If you are unable to keep your appointment or miss your appointment, you <u>MUST</u> contact IdentoGO; <u>you may</u> <u>have to reregister and repay</u>.

Electronic Fingerprints are normally received by the Tennessee Health Related Boards within 8-10 business days.

Revised 01/09/2019



STATE OF TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH HEALTH RELATED BOARDS 665 MAINSTREAM DRIVE NASHVILLE, TN 37243

DECLARATION OF CITIZENSHIP MUST ACCOMPANY ALL APPLICATIONS FOR INITIAL LICENSURE OR REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSURE

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 4-58-101 et seq, the Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act (also known as the "SAVE Act") requires the Tennessee Department of Health (including all Boards, Commissions, and contractors), along with every local health department in the State, to verify that *every <u>adult</u>* applicant for a professional license is either a U.S. citizen, a "qualified alien," or a nonimmigrant who meets the requirements set out at 8 U.S.C. 1621.

I am a	a(n) Healthcare Profession (Please Print) License number if applicable				
	Please Print Legibly				
1.	Name: Last First Middle Maiden				
2.	Mailing Address:				
3.	Phone Number: Home: () Office: () Fax: ()				
4.	I am a United States Citizen:YesNo				
5.	I am a foreign national not physically present in the United StatesYesNo. If you answered yes to this question, please sign this form in the presence of a notary and return it with your application. No further documentation is required.				
6.	Applicants Claiming United States Citizenship MUST provide one of the following:				
	 a) Tennessee Driver's License, or photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety. b) A valid driver license or ID issued by another state, provided its issuance requirements meet Tennessee Department of Safety criteria. c) An official birth certificate issued by a U.S. state, territory, or other jurisdiction. Puerto Rican birth certificates issued before July 1, 2010 do not qualify. d) A federally issued birth certificate. e) A valid, unexpired U.S. passport. f) A report of birth abroad of a U.S. citizen. g) A certificate of citizenship. h) A certificate of naturalization. i) A U.S. citizen ID card. j) Any successor document to #'s e-i above. k) An SSN that is verifiable with the Social Security Administration in accordance with federal law. 				
7.	If you checked "No" in question 4, please indicate from the list below which category applies to you: (circle one)				
	 a) Permanent Resident b) A nonimmigrant applicant for a professional or commercial license whose visa for entry into the United States is related to such employment, or a nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 1101 <i>et seq.</i>). 				

c) As	ylees who	meet the	qualifications	set out in	8 U.S.C. 1158.
-------	-----------	----------	----------------	------------	----------------

- d) Refugees who meet the qualifications set out in 8 U.S.C. 1157.
- e) Persons who have been "paroled into the United States," under 8 U.S.C. 1182(d)(5) or whose deportation has been withheld under 8 U.S.C. 1253.
- f) Cuban or Haitian entrants as defined by section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.
- g) Persons granted conditional entry into the U.S. under 8 U.S.C. 1153(a)(7) before April 1, 1980, because of persecution or fear of persecution on account of race, religion, or political opinion or because of being uprooted by catastrophic national calamity.
- h) An alien who has been "battered" or subjected to "extreme cruelty" by a parent or spouse as defined by 8 U.S.C. 1641(c), and also meets the qualifications set out 8 U.S.C. 1641(c)(1)(B). Under the circumstances set out in 8 U.S.C. 1641(c)(2) and (3), victims' children, or the parents of children who are victims, may also apply for benefits as qualified aliens.

Applicants claiming **qualified alien status** (question 7 above), please submit two of the following forms of "documentation of identity and immigration status" as determined by U.S. Homeland Security to be acceptable for verification through the SAVE program. Common types of documents used to verify immigration status are listed below. (Note: If you can provide only one document, your status will be verified through the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's SAVE program):

I-327 (Reentry Permit)

I-551 (Permanent Resident Card or "Green Card")

I-571 (Refugee Travel Document)

I-766 (Employment Authorization Card)

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 language)

Temporary I-551 stamp (on passport or I-94)

I-94 (Arrival/Departure record)

Unexpired foreign passport

WT/WB Admission Stamp in unexpired foreign passport

I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant F(1) student status- "student visa")

DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status)

••••••		••••••	••••••
	ALL APPLICANTS MUST SIG	GN AND HAVE NOTA	RIZED

I affirm under the penalty of perjury that the above is true and correct.

Signed this _____ day of _____, 20____.

Sia	nature
Jig	nucuic

Sworn to before me this _	day of	, 20

AFFIX SEAL HERE

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:

If an applicant is discovered to be an unqualified alien, or otherwise ineligible for benefits under the Act, all recurring benefits provided to that applicant must be immediately terminated. Anyone who purposefully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent claim of U.S. citizenship or qualified alien status will be liable under the Tennessee Medicaid False Claims Act, or Tennessee's False Claims Act. Any person who conspires to defraud the state or any local health department by securing a false claim allowed or paid to another person in violation of the Act may be liable under Tennessee's False Claims Act. Upon discovery of an applicant's false, fictitious, or fraudulent claim of U.S. citizenship or qualified alien status, state governmental entities and local health departments must also file a criminal complaint with the Office of the Attorney General and/ or the United State Attorney.